Media Arts

Ruby Amp

IMG_6962

As I recently started to practice playing with my girlfriends Ukulele, I decided to get myself a cheap Uke on Ebay too. I got a Stagg US80-SE which has a build in pickup so you can plug it into an amplifier. Of course I didn’t have an amplifier, so I decided to build a small and cheap one. After a little googling I came across the Ruby Amp by RunOffGroove (see schematic below).

Ruby AmpBased on this schematic I designed the following stripboard. The main circuit is the same as above, I just added a power switch with an LED as power indicator and a battery clip. The power anatomy is based on the stompbox power anatomy by BeavisAudio. So if you plug a DC jack in, it automatically disconnects the battery. It also just powers on if there is something plugged into the input jack. Instead of having a build-in speaker I choose to have a speaker terminal.

Ruby Amp StripboardAfter soldering I put everything into a nice cigar box. And Voila: Inside

IMG_6959

IMG_6964

Leave a comment